What I’m reading right now, part 3

Nonfiction: Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer. After I finally saw the movie, I wanted to read the book. I’ve always had some of the idealism and wanderlust the Chris McCandless seems to have had, so I though I’d identify with his quest, which led him into the Alaskan wilderness. But the irony of the story is that he may never have gotten there without the people he met along his journey.

Short fiction:  To Build a Fire by Jack London. The Krakauer book, along with a recent cold snap, prompted me to pull out my old collection of London’s works. This story of a man out on the frigid trail with his dog illustrates human arrogance in the face of nature.

~ by ericedits on February 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
