Write Now! conference a success

I spent the weekend in Hot Springs at the Write Now! conference, and by all accounts it was a success. The workshops all drew 20 to 30 people, and I came home with a stack of reading for my bedside table.

On Friday night, poet Andy Thorstenson of Hot Springs spoke about reading aloud to get a better feel for a poem.  After Andy,  I talked about how writeres can use the Internet — websites, blogs, social networking sites, etc. — to market their writing and build an audience/reputation for their work.

On Saturday, South Dakota poet laureate David Allan Evans held a poetry workshop. We all got to write some haiku and do some other writing exercises. In the afternoon, fiction writer Craig Johnson of Wyoming also held a workshop, which I did not attend and now regret not attending.

Saturday night, Johnson and Evans read from their work at the Wild Burro Bookstore. I shot some video of them, as well as some of the Friday night presentations, which I hope to post to YouTube soon.

Everyone seemed very pleased with the conference.  I was thrilled with the feedback I’ve gotten about my presentation. I even got the chance to read some of my poems, which I was not expecting.

Next year’s Hot Springs writers conference is already in the works, I hear. I know I’ll be there.

~ by ericedits on March 31, 2008.

One Response to “Write Now! conference a success”

  1. I have always wanted to attend one of those seminars. If one is ever in my area I will have to check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
