“After the Swan Dive,” David Allan Evans

South Dakota poet laureate David Allan Evans has a new chapbook out. “After the Swan Dive” contains 21 poems. Each poem’s title is a man’s name, except one, “A Guy at the Fitness Club.” It’s an interesting concept, exploring different facets of masculinity through the varied personalities in Evans’ poems.

Some of the poems are classic Evans, his cut-to-the-chase style intact. “Herb Denton” is the hard-drinking man who never misses work in spite of his habit. “Nate Jackson” revives the athlete poem that the author has always been adept with.

It’s the kind of poetry Evans has always written, only “After the Swan Dive” brings it into focus by dedicating its entirety to the subject.

“After the Swan Dive” is available from Finishing Line Press.


~ by ericedits on January 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: