‘Shedding Skins: Four Sioux Poets’

Here is a link to the story I wrote about “Shedding Skins: Four Sioux Poets,” a poetry anthology of, you guessed it, four poets–at least three of whom have ties to South Dakota.

I’ve written about Luke Warm Water’s poetry before. But Joel Waters was new to me. He lives in Sioux Falls and has some amazing poems in the book. I’ve added his blog to my South Dakota Poets blogroll. Check him out.

These poets write about the South Dakota that too many South Dakotans choose to ignore. I admit that when I read Warm Water’s indictments of life in Rapid City, it’s hard for me to swallow. His words cut and criticize the town I grew up in, but he grew up in it,  too, and had a far different experience than I have had.

His poems may be hard for an aging R.C. kid to read, but so important for me and so many others here to know about. Keep it up, Luke, wherever you are. Same to Joel Waters, and Trevino Brings Plenty, and Steve Pacheco and the book’s editor, Adrian Louis. Your voices enrich the poetry scene in our state with their unflinching but artful honesty.

~ by ericedits on January 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
