A New Fan of Writer’s Almanac

Since the beginning of the school year, whenever I’ve driven my 9-year-old son to school in the morning, about 8:35, he has asked me to change the public radio station when “Writer’s Almanac” began. I had been grudgingly obliging him. But this week, I noticed he had stopped asking me to change it. Instead, he hurried out to the car early to be ready for Garrison Keillor’s voice to come on, and then when we got to school he wouldn’t get out of the car till Keillor had finished reading the day’s poem.

I’m not sure what changed, but he seems to enjoy hearing the biographical information that Keillor typically features in the show. In any case, I’m not going to complain. I get to listen to “Writer’s Almanac,” and it’s unlooked-for bonding time with my son.

 

~ by ericedits on February 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
